Makzan / I share what I learned

From Adobe Flash to Animate

Link: Welcome Adobe Animate CC, a new era for Flash Professional

To more accurately represent its position as the premier animation tool for the web and beyond, Flash Professional will be renamed Adobe Animate CC, starting with the next release in early 2016.

Screen Shot 2015-12-15 at 11.54.53 PM

In the past, the web had many characteristics and personality. But it also came with endless nightmare of security and performance issues.

Flash player is dead, but Flash still there as one of the most powerful animation tools at 2015.

I still use Flash every day to create graphics and animation for my HTML5 games. Notably the CreateJS games I made for my book example. I can easily draw the vector graphics and animate with the timeline inside the Flash IDE. All I need is to give the symbols some instance names and export them into JavaScript. Then I can control these animated symbols in JavaScript directly. That’s a very easy workflow from a powerful animating tool to browsers.

So it definitely makes sense for Adobe to rename Flash into Animate. The word “Flash” has a bad reputation over the past 5 years.

I’ll also update my upcoming book Practical CreateJS with the new Adobe Animate workflow.


Published on 2015-12-02. More articles like this:
- Clip & Quote
- CreateJS
- Web Technologies

Previous <- Engaging users with web
Next -> Link: Git pretty